Friday, February 22, 2019

Inter District Cross Country

The Inter District XC Championships took place on Saturday 7th January 2017 at Holyrood Park in Edinburgh.  Weather was thankfully dry and bright. Well done to all our athletes who competed and performances of note are listed below.

U13G – Valencia Wright won individual Silver in a time of 11.26 and was a member of the West Team who won Gold.

U13B – Devan Miller (11.02) was a member of the West Team who won Silver.

U15G – Lily-Evans-Haggerty won individual Gold in a time of 14.23.  Lily and Isla Britton (15.10) were members of the West Team who won Gold.

U17M – Charlie Milarvie (22.00) and Robbie Smith (22.05) were members of the West Team who won Gold.


Junior & Senior Women – Gillian Black (23.11) was a member of the West Team who won Silver.

Mhairi Hendry was a member of the Scotland “A” 4 x 1km Relay Team who won Bronze in a time of 11.18 (only 1 sec behind the USA Silver medallists).


Senior Women – Beth Potter (21.46) was a member of the GBR 6km Team who won Silver.

Well done to Philippa Millage for her selection to the Scotland “B” Team who achieved 8th place.


Linda Innes

Cross Country Results

Kenny McVey has sent in an update on the Cross Country Results.  Some great performances from around the UK.

West District CC Championships. 

 Sun. 04-12-16.


 Sen. 10th Team. 10k.

 Vets. 10th Team. 10k.

 Afewerki Haile               9th        37:18

 Kieron Rafferty            20th        37:56

 Steven Bryce                45th        40:13

 Crawford Little           104th        43:29        6thV50

 Duncan Thomson      158th        46:59        6th V45

 Gordon Murray           231rd        55:09        9thV50

 Sen. Ladies 6400m.

 Rhian Daws                   16th        28:50

 Donna Finlayson           39th        31:40

 U20. Men 8000m.

 Jamie MacKinnon           8th        28:52

 Guy Evens-Haggerty     17th        31:21

 U20. Ladies 5000m.

 Anna Tait                         2nd        19:40.


 British Athletes European  CC Trials.

 Sat. 26-11-16.


 Sen. Men 9800M

 Mark Austin                   45th        30:43        13U23

 U20. Men 6700m.

 Max Malarvie                79th        22:32

 U17Men  5500m.

 Charlie Malarvie           39th        18:17

 Lorn Webster                74th        19:11

 U11 Boys 1700m

 Saul McGlennan             4th          7:10

 Sen Ladies 8100m.

 Jo Moultrie                   16th        27:59

 Beth Potter                   18th        28:02

 Sarah Potter                 95th        31:22

 U11 Girls 1900m.

 Sophie Sinclair             11th        7:47

 Rebecca Barnett          35th        8:32

 U15 Boys 3000m.

 Blayne Wright             108th      11:47

 U13 Boys 3000m.

 Russell Barnett            44th        11:24

 Christian McKay          78th        12:05

 U15 Girls 3000m.

 Lily Evens-Haggerty      4th        10:32

 Island Britton               30th        11:26

 Rhian Callan                56th        11:53

 U13 Girls 3000m.

 Valencia Wright            5th        11:15

 Dunbartonshire CC Championships. 

 Sun. 13-11-16.

 Balloch Park. 

 Sen. Men 3rd Team.

 Max Malarvie              3rd        31:15        1stU20

 Kieron Rafferty           4th         31:40

 Callum Heirs            15th         35:05

 Crawford Little         18th         35:24        1stV50

 Gerry Craig               26th          36:25

 Duncan Thomson   34th          37:57

 Jonathan Millar       44th          39:46

 V60 Race.

 Kenny McVey             4th          35:53


 Scottish 4k CC Championships. 

 Sat. 05-11-16.


 Sen. Men 11th Team.

 Afowerki Haile          17th        12:38

 Max Malarvie            33rd        12:59

 Jamie MacKinnon   62nd        13:25

 Patrick Bowman     141st        14:25

 Ian Dunn                  228th         15:33

 Sen. Ladies 4th Team.

 Mhairi Henry             13th          14:29

 Anna Tait                   14th          14:30

 Philippa Millage        21st          14:25

 Suzanne Gilmour      25th          15:00          1stVet.


West District Cross Country Champs

The West District Cross Country Championships were held on Sunday 4th December at Mosshill Industrial Estate, Ayr.  Well done to all athletes who competed on a thankfully dry and bright day in Ayr.  Performances of note are listed below.


Anna Tait won individual Silver for U20W in a time of 19.40

Charlie Milarvie won individual Bronze for U17M in a time of 24.07

Lily Jane Evans-Haggerty won individual Silver for U15G in a time of 15.29

Valencia Wright won individual Silver for U13G in a time of 12.01


U17M won Silver in a team consisting of Charlie Milarvie (24.07), Lewis Priest (24.42) and Robbie Smith (25.04)

U15G won Silver in a team consisting of Lily Jane Evans-Haggerty (15.29), Isla Britton (15.56) and JoJo Littlefield (16.50)

U13B won Silver in a team consisting of Devan Miller (11.43), Fraser Gilmour (12.00) and Russell Barnett (12.45)


Linda Innes

Dunbartonshire XC Championships

The Dunbartonshire AAA Cross Country Championships was held at a wet and soggy Balloch Castle Country Park on Sunday 13th November 2016.  VP-Glasgow was very well represented with our teams doing particularly well.  Performances of note are listed below.  The event doubled as our Club Cross Country Championships and everyone who placed 1st to 3rd will receive a medal at the AGM on Wednesday the 23rd of November.

Very well done to all athletes who competed and thank you to everyone who uploaded photographs onto facebook.  We were particularly pleased to see those who competed the day before at Milton Keynes.


Saul McGlennon (00:06:58), Christian McKay (00:07:16) and Ben Thomson (00:07:31) were the 2nd U11B team.   Saul was 3rd individual U11B.



Sophie Sinclair (00:07:35), Rebecca Elsby (00:08:04) and Zoe Wilson (00:08:13) were the 1st U11G team.

Sophie, Rebecca and Zoe were respectively 1st, 2nd and 3rd individual U11Gs.



Fraser Gilmour (00:11:15), Russell Barnett (00:11:23) and Devan Miller (00:11:31) were 1st U13B team.

Fraser and Russell were respectively 2nd and 3rd individual U13Bs.


Valencia Wright (00:11:41), Beth Bushell (00:13:44) and Nicole McGilp (00:14:31) were 3rd U13G team.

Valencia was 2nd individual U13G.



JoJo Littlefield (00:19:44), Rhian Callan (00:21:24) and Jenna Little (00:22:43) were 1st U15G team.  JoJo was 1st individual U15G.



Calum Byrne (00:19:01) was 7th, Blayne Wright (00:19:23) was 10th and Jack MacKinnon (00:19:31) was 12th.



Robbie Smith (00:17:22) was 1st individual U17M, Calum Brown (00:20:12) was 8th and Fergus Blyth (00:20:36) was 9th.



Beth (00:22:52) was 2nd Individual U17W.



Max Milarvie (00:31:15), Kieron Rafferty (00:31:40), Calum Heirs (00:35:05) and Crawford Little (00:35:24) were 3rd Men’s team.

Max was 3rd individual U20M.  Crawford Little was 1st individual M50.  Kenny McVey (00:35:53) was 4th M60.


The following will be awarded medals at the AGM on Wednesday the 23rd of November for success in this years Club Cross Country Championships.

Saul McGlennon, Christian McKay, Ben Thomson, Sophie Sinclair, Rebecca Elsby, Zoe Wilson, Fraser Gilmour, Russell Barnett, Devan Miller, Valencia Wright, Beth Bushell, Nicole McGilp, Calum Byrne, Blayne Wright, Jack MacKinnon, JoJo Littlefield , Rhian Callan, Jenna Little, Robbie Smith, Calum Brown, Fergus Blyth, Beth Gibbons, Max Milarvie, Kieron Rafferty, Calum Heirs, Crawford Little and  Kenny McVey.


Linda Innes